Journey into Pi

Journey into Pi

Okay, so my enclosure came in the mail yesterday and I spent all night playing with my new little mini-computer. It was a great experience snapping the enclosure around the powerful system-board and I was ready to load up the Raspbian OS for the first time.

Sadly, the wireless USB keyboard/trackball combo stopped working five minutes in. The device still worked on my laptop, which is odd because it’s like the Pi just stopped accepting signals from it for no reason. So, with no other wired keyboards, I had to cancel all activity on the device. I’m going to have to remedy that by picking up a wired USB keyboard (I already have a wired USB mouse) just for situations like this. I’m also going to pick up a wireless USB keyboard/trackpad combo after work today, then return the keyboard/trackball.

I feel like this is a good opportunity for me to get used to things not working right away, or even on the second or third attempt. My understanding of the IT field is that it’s constantly dealing with things going wrong and trying to keep your cool long enough to figure out what to do about it.

When I was studying for the A+ exam back in 2000 I don’t think I had the patience to deal with one problem after the next. But after working in customer service for over a decade and a half I’ve mellowed enough to the point where I know I can do it.

Leave a comment